

alaska judicial council

1029 W. Third Avenue, Suite 201, Anchorage, Alaska 99501-1969 (907) 279-2526 FAX (907) 276-5046 http://www.ajc.state.ak.us E-mail: postmaster@ajc.state.ak.us

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Larry Cohn

Press Release May 3, 2004

NON-ATTORNEY MEMBERS Eleanor Andrews Bill Gordon Gigi Pilcher

> ATTORNEY MEMBERS Douglas Baily Robert B. Groseclose Susan Orlansky

> > CHAIR, EX OFFICIO Alexander O. Bryner Chief Justice Supreme Court

Judicial Retention Evaluations Retention Public Hearing May 12, 2004

http://www.ajc.state.ak.us/Retention

The Alaska Judicial Council currently is in the process of evaluating the judges who will be on the ballot this November. The Council has scheduled a statewide public hearing to allow comments on retention judges on Wednesday, May 12, 2004, at the Legislative Information Offices. A list of sites and times follows:

Juneau 5:00 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office Terry Miller Building 129 Sixth Street, Room 104 - Juneau	Anchorage 5:00 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 716 W. Fourth Avenue, Suite 200 Anchorage
Ketchikan 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office 50 Front Street, Ste. 203 - Ketchikan	Kodiak 6:30 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 112 Mill Bay Road - Kodiak
Sitka 5:30 - 6:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 210 Lake Street - Sitka	Kenai 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 145 Main Street Loop, Ste. 217 - Kenai
Fairbanks 5:00 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 119 N. Cushman, Suite 101 - Fairbanks	Homer 5:30 - 6:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 345 Sterling Highway, Ste. 102A - Homer
Kotzebue 6:00 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office 373 2 nd St. Pillautaq Building - Kotzebue	Seward 6:00 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 2001 Seward Highway - Seward

Barrow 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office 119 Bank Building - Barrow	Wasilla 5:00 - 7:00 p.m. Mat-Su Legislative Information Office 600 E. Railroad Avenue - Wasilla
Nome 6:00 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office 103 E. Front St. State Office Bldg Nome	Bethel 6:30 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 301 Willow Street - Bethel
Cordova 6:00 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office 705 Second Street - Cordova	Delta Junction 5:30 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office Jarvis Office Center, Rm. 218 Delta Junction
Dillingham 6:00 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office Kangiiqutaq Building - Dillingham	Glennallen 5:30 - 6:30 p.m. Legislative Information Office Community Library, Mile 186 - Glennallen
Petersburg 5:30 - 6:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office 11B Gjoa Street - Petersburg	Tok 6:30 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office UAF Building, E. First Street - Tok
Valdez 6:30 - 7:00 p.m. Legislative Information Office Room 13, State Office Building - Valdez	Wrangell 5:30 - 6:00 Legislative Information Office 223 Front Street - Wrangell

Comments also may be mailed to the Council, or submitted on the Council's Internet Site.

The Council will consider evaluation information and decide whether to recommend retention for each judge who will be on the ballot. The Council's recommendations and most of the information on which they are based will be made available to the public. Summaries will be in the voter pamphlet sent to all Alaska households. Information also will be available on the Council's website.

Larry Cohn
Executive Director
Alaska Judicial Council
1029 W. Third Ave., Suite 201
Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 279-2526 x 1
Fax: 907-276-5046
lcohn@ajc.state.ak.us

http://www.state.ak.us